Mizon · Product Review

[Review] Mizon Witchhazel 90% Toner

Morning everyone! It’s hump day!!  *\(^.^)/*  We’re officially half-way through the week!

Today I want to talk about a new staple in my skincare routine:

IMG_0132

Ahhhh Korean!!! Like I say in Taiwan, “Kan bu dong”…

IMG_0133

IMG_0175

INGREDIENTS:

Hamamelis virgiana (witch hazel) leaf water, aqua, butylene glycol, panthenol, trehalose, glycerin, peg-60 hydrogenated castor oil, tocopheryl acetate, caprylyglycol, ethylhexylglycerin, tropolone, daucus carota sativa (carrot) root extract, pinus densiflora extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract, canca papaya (papaya) fruit extract, gysophila paniculata root extract, propylene glycol, hedera helix (ivy) extract, copper tripeptide-1, glycyrrhiza glabral (licorice) root extract, salix alba  (willow) bark extract, phenoxyethanol, cymbopogon schoenanthus oil

 CosDNA only found Butylene Glycol (solvent, moisturizer) as a (1) for acne.

Claims that this product makes:

“The formula contains 90% Witchhazel extract, effective for tightening pores. Removes any skin wastes residue in pores and controls excessive sebum. Keeps skin oil free and fresh all day long.”

This bottle is a TON of product, which is so amazing! The price is right, too – at $11.54 from RRS (RoseRoseShop) and with free shipping to boot, this is such a good deal! I’ve been using it for a month now and I’ve gone through less than a fifth of this bottle! Wheee! I use this liberally without worrying about wasting product.

It has a screw-off cap and has a simple, small hole at the top to dispense product:

IMG_0176

It doesn’t come pouring out – it drips out quite nicely when you gently shake it. I soak thin cotton pads with this and swipe it all over my face, morning and night.

IMG_0177

It’s really watery in consistency, more watery than the typical asian-style, hydrating toners. I tried very hard to smell this, but it has a barely-there fragrance. It smells like… nothing, almost. Perfect! 😀

I love this toner and I will definitely repurchase. And here’s why:

* good ingredients
I love that Witchhazel water is the first ingredient!! And it’s great that they also included the tea and licorice root extracts as well!

* affordable

* large quantity of product
210ml (7.1 oz)

* effective as a more western-style toner

* doesn’t dry out my skin

I really enjoy the hydrating asian-style toners, but I really missed the more western-style astringent toners that I could swipe over my skin to get any residual dirt/makeup off after cleansing. But most of the toners I tried back home are too astringent and dried out my skin! This product is EXACTLY what I needed. The witch hazel tones my skin while the product itself doesn’t dry out my face – I didn’t think something like this existed! So this has definitely been promoted to HG status just for fitting my specific needs so nicely, and for doing it well! I use this toner after oil and foam cleansing, and before adding my hydrating toners, essences, etc.

As for what the product claims to do:

* tightens pores:
I never had a problem with enlarged pores to begin with, so I can’t speak for those who have a serious problem with pores – but as someone with pretty normal pores (maybe some larger sebaceous filaments around the nose area), I think it has helped. I do like the way the skin around my nose looks after I use this. However, I think the results don’t seem to be long-term… probably because I don’t have much of an issue with pores to begin with.

* removes residue:
This is, without question, true. I still get some leftover makeup or dirt off in the morning/evening when I use this product. Yay for cleaner skin!!

* controls sebum:
I’m not entirely sure about this claim. I have normal/dry skin, so I don’t have an oil control problem to fix. I can’t say much about it because of this, unfortunately!

Since I started using this, I’ve started to have clearer skin. I think a couple other products have also influenced this result (essence/AHA), but it definitely hasn’t hurt my skin, and it’s helped me keep my skin cleaner!
Note: I also read online that this supposedly has a good pH and preps your skin, but I’m not sure if this is true or not!

Have you guys tried any of Mizon’s toners? They do have a couple other varieties, “Bulgarian Rose” and “Chamomile”, I believe. Let me know what you guys think!

❤ Bine Queen ❤

7 thoughts on “[Review] Mizon Witchhazel 90% Toner

Leave a Reply

