Narüko · Product Review

[First Impression] Narüko Apple Seed & Tranexamic Acid Mask

 Good morning all! Last night I tried my second Narüko mask ever (for the first one, check out my post history), and this morning’s coffee is powering me through this review:So from the description, it sounds like instead of damage control, this mask is made for prevention?  This mask contains 3% Tranexamic Acid – and I found the following information about this ingredient on the Paula’s Choice website:

A synthetic amino acid that functions as a skin-conditioning agent and astringent. Derived from the amino acid lysine, it is used in during surgery to control bleeding, including from dental surgery. In cosmetics, it functions on skin as a barrier repair ingredient and seems able to help skin recover from damage (Source: International Jounal of Dermatology, August 2013, ePublication).

There’s a growing body of research showing that tranexamic acid also has an inhibitory effect on melanin (skin pigment) production, meaning topical applications of effective amounts (5%) may improve brown skin discolorations associated with melasma (Sources: Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, August 2013, pages 1,035-1,039; and Journal of Cosmetic and Laser Therapy, June 2012, pages 150-154).

INGREDIENTS: 

CLAIMS/INSTRUCTIONS:

 This is my second try at a Narüko brand mask, and so far they have been well-soaked with essence, like My Beauty Diary. They almost drip when you take them out of the package.

  I was pretty confused when I took this out… the last Narüko mask I tried had a very different cut/shape, and it was laid onto a perforated plastic sheet. This mask came with a non-perforated plastic sheet and the cut was completely different. Why??? This makes me wonder if every kind of mask from Narüko has a different shape… so strange.

It didn’t smell like anything while on my face, but in the package it kind of smelled like… a chemical? Not sure how to describe the smell. It wasn’t overwhelming or enough to make me not want to use it, though.

  The last one I tried had small cuts in the eyes/nose area for adjustment and this had none – only cuts for the chin area.  My face pre-application (cleansed and toned):  Wearing the mask:

UGH. You guys, this was the most fussy mask I’ve ever dealt with thus far. It is definitely NOT meant for someone with my face shape. The section for the upper lip was SO wide that I had to cut it just to make sure I wasn’t going to drink any essence by mistake. The part on my chin kept slipping, even 15 mins into wearing it. The eye holes of course don’t fit well, as you see in the picture, and parts of the mask just seemed to tug at the area around my nose. When I tried to pull it farther upwards on my face, it ripped a bit on the forehead area (see picture above). I really, really wasn’t happy about spending 10 minutes just trying to get it on my face – you can tell I’m not happy in the picture, lol.

 

 Woah nelly! Sorry about the bright lighting in this picture. I took this the morning after I used it, right when I woke up. Despite the difference in lighting, you can tell that it evened out my skin tone and reduced redness – but with just one usage, it did not magically make my acne PIH disappear (see small spots on cheeks and chin). I do think this mask has potential to do so over a couple nights perhaps – but I really don’t think I will be repurchasing this mask just because the “cut”, or shape, of it is such a hassle to deal with. If you have my face shape, you might want to consider skipping this one! The results were not earth-shaking enough with one use to make me want to deal with the inconvenient shape of the mask… Even if continued use might give me better results. Hopefully that shape works for some people out there!

Have any of you tried these? What’s your favorite mask for brightening?

❤ Bine Queen ❤

3 thoughts on “[First Impression] Narüko Apple Seed & Tranexamic Acid Mask

Leave a Reply

