My Scheming · Product Review

[Review] My Scheming Skin Clarifying Astringent Mask

Good morning, everyone! (⌒-⌒; ) I had a long weekend thanks to Buddha’s birthday! But today, it’s back to my black coffee in the morning. 😉

Last night I tried a new mask from My Scheming! This time, their Skin Clarifying Astringent Mask:

 The packaging is as cute as ever, and the ingredients look good.

I know about witch hazel and hyaluronic acid, but I was curious about some of the ingredients I wasn’t familiar with, and here’s what I found:

 – gluconic acid is a “cosmetic biocide“, which helps to “cleanse the skin or to prevent odor by destroying or inhibiting the growth of microorganisms”.

– the hydrolyzed silk means that this contains silk proteins, which apparently are excellent moisturizers and provide a protective barrier.

gentiana lutea extract is anti-inflammatory and antibacterial

– ginkgo biloba leaf extract is a great anti-aging antioxidant that also has antibacterial and antifungal properties, and is known to increase blood flow.

Sounds good to me!

Onto the BEFORE/MASK FACE/AFTER:

The first two were taken in indoor lighting the night before, the third in the morning daylight – sorry about the different lighting guys, I had no way to avoid it! And I don’t know if there’s a way to fix it in Photoshop or something.

The mask is nearly invisible, as usual per My Scheming! The fit was nice and had no cuts to speak of for adjustment, and was VERY, very thin. It takes a little practice to put these on! But once you get the hang of it they are so comfortable to wear! I just fold it where necessary to make it fit my face better and that’s it! It sticks to my face really well, right away.

I used this mask because I have a couple breakouts and wanted some help with them. I think it did help and I will be using another one in succession to see if it has more cumulative effect! 😀 It was definitely moisturizing as well, so that’s a plus.

There’s definitely less redness in my face the morning after, and my breakouts had calmed down substantially, to the point where my normal light coverage makeup was all I needed! I didn’t have to use any heavy stuff the next day to cover it up.
(⌒-⌒; )

I liked this one a lot for acne treatment, so I think I’ll pick up a whole box to keep handy! And maybe my MBD Apple Polyphenol as a backup as well! 😀 I do think these work better for acne than the Holika Holika Juicy Tea Tree masks in terms of one-time use, but I’m not sure how they’d compare over the course of a week. Hmmm!

Have you guys tried these? Which mask is your favorite go-to for acne?

5 thoughts on “[Review] My Scheming Skin Clarifying Astringent Mask

  1. You look so pissed off in that middle pic! LOL
    Every time you review a My Scheming mask, I tell myself I’m going to find out where they sell these here! I don’t use any acne masks – I just focus on hydration. Which My Scheming mask would you say is best for hydration?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I read that these are astringent, I wondered whether they were drying. But the results sound lovely. I’ve tried some tea tree ones from Naruko and Naisture lately. I like the Naruko more (felt like it calmed my spots better and it’s this nice, tightly woven material), but I need to test them some more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

