Etude House · Uncategorized

[Review] Etude House Honey Cera Essence

When I heard about this new line, I could barely contain myself!! It was all I could do to not order everything from the line all at once!

I am a HUGE honey product fan. I’ve tried Skinfood’s honey skincare line and loved it! My skin is normal to dry and the honey in these kinds of products works absolute wonders with my skin. It moisturizes and heals, and I can’t get enough – especially now that it’s below freezing and very dry!

SO, I convinced myself that I could make room for one more essence, and be satisfied at trying that for now. (Spoiler: I’ve since ordered the rest of the line, I’m so in love!)

Note: I have normal to dry skin at the moment. 

So without further ado, here is the packaging:

Firming!! Nourishing!! Music to my ears! I want something to keep my skin healthy and moisturized this winter, but I’m also excited by anything “firming” – I’m starting to get some fine lines at my age. Oh man, I was so excited to try this when it first arrived, but I made sure I was a good girl and tested it for a week on half of my face first. 😄 Always patch-test!! It didn’t break me out and my skin loved it.

Here is the ingredients list, pictured and typed up below (my favorite ingredients in bold):


Water, glycerin, glycereth-26, betaine, alcohol, diethoxyethyl succinate, honey extract, ceramide 3, royal jelly, helichrysum italicum extract, tremella fuciformis (mushroom) extract, glyceryl stearate, glyceryl caprylate, dextrin, butylene glycol, bis-PEG-18 methyl ether dimethyl silane, cetearyl alcohol, sodium polyacrylate, stearic acid, adenosine, acrylates/stearyl methacrylate copolymer, ammonium acryloydimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, ethylhexylglycerin, octyldodeceth-16, xanthan gum, carbomer, theobroma cacao (cocoa) extract, tromethamine, polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate, hydrogenated lecithin, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, hyaluronic acid, disodium EDTA, fragrance. 

Here is also a link to CosDNA’s analysis of the ingredients.

I like the ingredients above because:

  • Glycerin is a humectant
  • Honey is moisturizing, nourishing and antibacterial
  • Ceramide 3 helps maintain my moisture barrier
  • Royal jelly is also moisturizing and nourishing
  • Mushroom extracts can have astringent properties that help tighten pores and refine skin texture
  • Helichrysum italicum is also known as the curry plant – it is said to be anti-inflammatory, fungicidal, astringent, and soothe burns and chapped skin
  • Cocoa extract is antioxidant and therefore anti-aging
  • Hyaluronic acid is a humectant

I really, really like the bottle for this essence:


I LOVE that it’s a pump dispenser! Also, the cap on top to protect the dispenser is very nice and makes a satisfying snapping sound when you put it on. You can tell it won’t fall off easily in a bag. The Innisfree Green Tea Seed Serum had a cap as well, but it wasn’t as easy to use and I ditched it long ago. I definitely will keep using the cap with this bottle! Yay!!

The bottle contains 80 ml of product, which is the same amount as the Inisfree Green Tea Seed Serum – but this bottle feels a bit heftier, with more weight in the hand. I kind of like it, actually, because that makes it feel more luxurious somehow, even though it’s still just plastic. Here they are both for size comparison:


Here is what one pump looks like:

This is enough for half of my face.

Here it is spread out a little so you can see the texture somewhat:

It is pretty viscous. It is thicker than the Innisfree Green Tea Seed Serum, and it’s thick enough to not run down my hand when I pump it out or if I hold my hand vertically. But it spreads very easily.

It doesn’t really have much of a fragrance. I had my boyfriend smell it as well, and we both agreed it kind of had a generic lotion smell that almost smelled like beeswax, too.

And here it is blended out:

These pictures of my hands were from my first impressions of the product. I was blown away, even then! The hand that I rubbed the essence on felt SO amazingly baby soft compared to my other hand, EVEN after washing with harsh soaps later on!

It absorbs fairly quick and when it dries, it doesn’t feel nearly as sticky as the Skinfood propolis essence that I once had. It was barely sticky at all, which I liked. I immediately feel that the skin on my face feels smoother and softer.

I do feel that, over time, it has helped keep my skin more moisturized. During my first week of use (patch-testing), the half of my face that I put it on didn’t have any dry flakes – whereas my other half without it did.

Since using it, my skin has seemed healthier and smoother. But I can’t say much about the firming claim- I guess it feels slightly firming because your skin feels smoother, but I didn’t see any difference really in firmness. Then again, I’m still only in my late 20’s, so that could be why as well.

So in summary, I like it because:

  • It gets rid of dry flakes
  • It’s moisturizing
  • Little to no scent
  • Nice texture, no stickiness
  • Good packaging (pump), sturdy

Needless to say, this is a rave review, pretty much! I’m extremely happy with the results and I will keep using it. I can’t wait to try out the rest of the Honey Cera line, which is currently in the mail! Wheee!!

Have any of you tried the new Honey Cera line? What was your experience? What are other honey or ceramide products that you would recommend?

3 thoughts on “[Review] Etude House Honey Cera Essence

  1. I haven’t tried any of their products, though I am totally intrigued! Your review really makes me want to try. I jotted the name down! Something to take care of dry patches would be awesome. Thank you for sharing! Koko:)

    Like

  2. I’ve been using the Honey Cera Moisturizer for 2 months now and it really helped my skin. I used to have dry skin but right now there’s not even an ounce of dryness. I’ve been following the Koreans 7-10 skin care steps and I see good results. I experience breakouts but they disappear right away after 2-3 days, My Etude House parcel just arrived today and with it is the Honey Cera toner (which I have yet to try since my toner is not yet finished), I also bought the Honey Cera eye cream and Essence which I both used tonight. Now that I have tried the moisturizer, I could say that I trust the Honey Cera line of Etude House. I also have some of their products like a few of their bb cushions, sleep masks and sheet masks that I really like.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

