April Skin · Product Review · Uncategorized

[Review] AprilSkin Magic Snow Sun Cushion

I received this from a raffle/giveaway by 0.8L USA on Instagram. Online, off the official April Skin website, this cushion goes for $26 USD. First, I’ll show off the product and then I’ll talk about their claims and how it stands up to them. Read on for more pictures and my experience! Warning: picture heavy!

I fell in love hard with this packaging, I can’t lie. It’s my favorite shade of pink, with some artistic strokes of color thrown in. It’s so artsy looking, I feel special every time I use it!

This is what the underbelly looks like.

 

Here is a quick comparison of the case size:

Etude House Precious Mineral to the left, Innisfree Ampoule Intense to the right.

 

It doesn’t shut with that satisfying click that other cases have, but that’s okay. The holder is a wide dish. The puff is also slightly smaller than its holder, so it doesn’t fit as snugly as the Missha puff or the Etude House puff. Still, that’s okay.
I was impressed by the look of the sponge – it seems like good quality. The holes are tiny and it’s almost bulging out, it’s so sturdy. It doesn’t look cheap.
I only lightly touched the sponge and I got product right away!! This “mochi”-style sponge seems packed with product. You don’t need much pressure at all to get product, and there’s a lot of spring to it

The product in the sponge is nice – there’s a light scent that dissipates after application. The kind of scent is hard for me to describe… perhaps a bit floral? I’m not sure.

 

 

It dries down to a clear, slightly dewy/glowy finish that doesn’t seem to have any white cast at all. I’ve had no issues, anyway. It has a slightly tacky feel to it, but it doesn’t feel like it’s coming off my face if I touch my skin. There aren’t any issues if I put makeup on top. I don’t mind the feeling. I don’t really touch my face, anyway!

One interesting thing I noticed after some use is that the sponge does absorb some product and bulges out a bit like this. Just make sure to press all the product off onto your face, don’t leave it in the sponge!

Now, let’s get down to the claims they made about this product.

 

On their website, they have lots of pictures and GIFs and videos about this product that you can refer to if you’re interested, HERE.

The first claim I noticed is something I referred to earlier, the “mochi”-style cushion:

Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 10.34.47 AM

I guess this means that instead of having the product underneath the cushion like all the other cushion foundations I own, this one has the product smack in the middle. I’ll have to update this post later on to see whether this set-up makes it easier to use up the last bits of the product compared to other cushions… we shall see! But I do think that having the product at the bottom of the cushion creates issues with using all of it up, because I always have to flip the sponge in my cushion foundations in order to actually get to it all. Hopefully this set-up will prove more efficient!

Another claim they made was that they use mineral, physical sunscreen in this product:

Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 10.33.23 AM.png

Here is the ingredient list for this cushion:

Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 11.09.23 AM.png

Hmmm. I’m not sure I see any physical sunscreens… the only two I know of are Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide, and I see neither of them. Here are some other names for these two physical sunscreens:

Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 11.39.14 AM.png

Huh. No physical sunscreens to be seen in this ingredient list. What I DO see however, as the second ingredient, is a chemical sunscreen.

They call it “Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate“, but it’s also known as “Octinoxate“. This is a chemical UV filter, not a physical one. Also, it certainly doesn’t “reflect” UV rays:

Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 11.42.43 AM.png
This degrades over time, and does not reflect UV light. Since this degrades, this definitely needs reapplication throughout the day.

Well, this claim has been officially debunked! You’re welcome. 😉

Next, they claim that it cools down your skin:

Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 10.33.43 AM

I didn’t measure the temperature of my skin, but it does have an instant cooling effect/feeling when I apply it to my skin. This disappears after a couple minutes though, of course.

It may be an “instant” cooling effect, but it’s certainly over in an instant too.

…and the last thing I’ll talk about is the scent – I mentioned it was kind of floral, and according to the website, it certainly is:

Screen Shot 2016-07-04 at 11.51.21 AM.png

So there we have it! A more-or-less in-depth view of this cushion – if you’ve made it this far into the post, thank you for reading!

Overall, this UV cushion performed pretty well despite not actually being a physical sunscreen. I used it over the course of a week and did not use makeup on top at all to completely assess its performance alone.

During those test days, I applied it in the morning before leaving home and then once more in the afternoon. It did really well, and despite me being out in the heat and summer sun AND going for a swim, my face remained unscathed by the UV rays.

Here’s my rating scale:


Starting from the left:

  1. ABSOLUTE FAIL. Would not repurchase.
  2. Meh. Not horrible, but not that good either.
  3. Hmmm. That’s interesting and I like it enough to use it all.
  4. Ooohhh. I definitely like this.
  5. WOW. This stuff is great! *.*
  6. I LOVE THIS. HOLY GRAIL STATUS!!

It was convenient and easy to use – heck, I even applied it while walking down the street, without shame. It’s nice! I would gladly get a refill for this when I’m done. I’m going to give this product a 4/6 – I took off a point for not containing any physical sunscreen despite claiming to, and I took a second point off for the sponge absorbing some of the product and getting all puffed out (see picture above).

This also has piqued my interest in trying other UV cushions. Have you all tried any good ones? Let me know in a comment! ❤

3 thoughts on “[Review] AprilSkin Magic Snow Sun Cushion

    1. I haven’t tried putting it over makeup, but I would imagine that it would have to be makeup that doesn’t smear if you pat something wet on top. I think the Laneige or Etude House BB cushions would do well underneath this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

