Etude House · Holika Holika · Product Review

Holika Holika Waterdrop Tinted Foundation & Etude House Fresh Cherry Tint

I got a couple of very interesting samples in my last Jolse haul, which are both featured here with swatches and FOTD! Read on for pictures and details!

This is the Holika Holika Waterdrop Tinted Foundation sample that I got in 04 Honey:

I like how they even put the expiration date on it!

Here is what it looks like straight out of the packet:

I was actually super worried that it’d be too dark for me since I’m fair (right now my summer skin is at NC20), and this is the darkest shade they have for this foundation (they have four shades, 01 – 04), but once I swatched it on my hand, I was reassured that it would fit me well:

It feels thin and watery, but spreads and blends super easy.

It doesn’t show up well on my hand, but this stuff offers some decent coverage.

Here is my before/after shot below, with nothing but skincare/sunscreen on before and nothing but the foundation on afterwards:

I did layer on two layers to get more of a full medium-coverage look, and I was definitely able to double it as a concealer!

And below is my “just after application” picture and then a “5 hours into wearing it” picture:

It started off as a demi-matte finish and ended up with a healthy glow half-way through the day. At the end of the day the glow factor hadn’t changed much and the coverage had faded to a medium, but I give it made props for making it that far and still looking gorgeous!

It didn’t make my skin feel dry, it didn’t flake or accentuate dry patches or my fine lines around my eyes, it was just perfect! I could see that it held my blush and eyeshadow in place all day.

Here’s my rating scale:


Starting from the left:

  1. ABSOLUTE FAIL. Would not repurchase.
  2. Meh. Not horrible, but not that good either.
  3. Hmmm. That’s interesting and I like it enough to use it all.
  4. Ooohhh. I definitely like this.
  5. WOW. This stuff is great! *.*
  6. I LOVE THIS. HOLY GRAIL STATUS!!

Overall, I give this a 6/6 for doing an amazing job and convincing me that there are no downsides to this foundation! I will be squeezing every last drop out of this sample and then probably go and order a full bottle. I’m really going to have to throw out some of my stash because it’s getting out of hand, haha. Definitely going to have to make this product a permanent part of my foundation collection!


Now, onto the Etude House Fresh Cherry Tint!!

I love how cute the design is!

It has a light scent, vaguely fruity to me. 

It seems pretty creamy upon blending!

This stuff actually tinted my hand pretty well. It wouldn’t come off until later in the day, haha.

I was pleasantly surprised by the creamy texture of this tint. The scent wasn’t too strong and wasn’t off-putting. Here is a BEFORE / AFTER:

img_2472
Since this came in a sample packet, I just dabbed it on with my finger.

I really like this red, it’s kind of berry-ish. Very summer-y! Here’s a full FOTD with it on (still in my PJ’s, haha). I also posted this on Instagram if you follow me over there 🙂

And here is an update that I *also* posted to my Instagram account for my followers – this is 5 hours after application, and also after drinking juice/coffee and eating breakfast/lunch:


I was super impressed with this lip tint, actually. I usually use my Peripera marker lip tint because it lasts longer than regular lipsticks, but this Etude House tint seems to be outdoing the Peripera tint in terms of longevity! The fact that my lips still look stained even after two meals is amazing! I will definitely be picking one up the next time I make an order at Jolse.

Here’s my rating scale:


Starting from the left:

  1. ABSOLUTE FAIL. Would not repurchase.
  2. Meh. Not horrible, but not that good either.
  3. Hmmm. That’s interesting and I like it enough to use it all.
  4. Ooohhh. I definitely like this.
  5. WOW. This stuff is great! *.*
  6. I LOVE THIS. HOLY GRAIL STATUS!!

I would give the lip tint a 5/6! It’s not something I’d call a HG for me, BUT I do think this is way better than other lip tints I have because it doesn’t dry out my lips like others do.

Overall, I enjoyed both products way more than I thought I would. I would definitely recommend both to my friends! Have any of you guys tried these out? What was your experience?

One thought on “Holika Holika Waterdrop Tinted Foundation & Etude House Fresh Cherry Tint

Leave a Reply

