Berrisom · Product Review

[Review] Berrisom Black Rice Horror Mask

Hey guys! I’ve been MIA due to clinicals lately, but I’m squeezing in a review this weekend! I did post a picture of this on my Instagram on Halloween if you’re interested!

I got this from my October Beauteque Monthly Maven mask bag. This is the second one I’ve tried from the shipment and I’m satisfied with the subscription soΒ far! The first one was from TonyMoly. Click on the link to read it! I’ll keep putting up reviews as I try them.

Here is the packaging:

And a close-up of the ingredients (click on picture for CosDNA list):

Here is a peek inside the packet:

…and the mask as I took it out:

It was very well-soaked with essence.

Actually, I was surprised when I felt it, because this isn’t a cotton mask, which is what I usually use. This is aΒ paper mask. ItΒ really does feel like paper – you can definitely feel the difference, and I think this is one of the major reasons why I didn’t end up liking it as much. More on that in a bit.

Here it is on my face:

This was the first mask I’ve ever had that wasn’t wide enough get all the way to my hairline by my ears. The good part was that it fit my nose, eyes and mouth well, but since it wasn’t wide enough it did encroach on my eyes a bit and I didn’t like that. You can tell how it’s running into my eyes in the picture above.

Here is my BEFORE/AFTER picture:

I put an arrow to show you the blemish I was hoping it would take care of. This mask is no Benton Snail Bee Mask, but it did hydrate and soothe a little. I don’t think it was spectacular.

The fit was okay but not good for my eyes, and coming back to the paper issue: the fact that it was a paper mask meant that this did not cling to my skin as well as the cotton masks do. It kept its creases pretty well and didn’t really mold to my face like I wanted it to. Its saving grace was that I had a Daiso Silicone mask to put over it so that it would actually stay on my face and come into contact with more of the skin on my face.

I’m not sure why, but my face also felt some tingling or stinging when I first applied this. After a few minutes it did go away.

Here’s my rating scale:


Starting from the left:

  1. ABSOLUTE FAIL. Would not repurchase.
  2. Meh. Not horrible, but not that good either.
  3. Hmmm. That’s interesting and I like it enough to use it all up.
  4. Ooohhh. I definitely like this.
  5. WOW. This stuff is great! *.*
  6. I LOVE THIS. HOLY GRAIL STATUS!!

Overall, I think this one was “meh”. I’d give it a 2/6. It didn’t break me out and it did hydrate a bit, but it stung a little at first and I didn’t like the paper form it came in. The results were not amazing enough to repurchase.

I’d say pass on this one, unless you really want a mask with a skull on it. πŸ’€ I think Beauteque included this one mostly for the Halloween theme going on in October.

One thought on “[Review] Berrisom Black Rice Horror Mask

Leave a Reply

