Empties · Product Review

January Empties!

Time for another Empties! I accumulated these over the past month or two – the box has been full the past couple of weeks and I’m just getting around to it now. Teehee!

For my Empties posts, I usually just talk briefly about each one and let you know whether I’ll repurchase it or not. This time, I also decided to rate each one using my rating scale:


Starting from the left:

  1. ABSOLUTE FAIL. Would not repurchase.
  2. Meh. Not horrible, but not that good either.
  3. Hmmm. That’s interesting and I like it enough to use it all.
  4. Ooohhh. I definitely like this.
  5. WOW. This stuff is great! *.*
  6. I LOVE THIS. HOLY GRAIL STATUS!!

I’ve divided them all into different categories!

SHEET MASKS

A’Pieu Sweet Melon Sheet Mask

I did enjoy these A’Pieu Sweet Melon Sheet Masks, and if I came across them on sale or in-store somewhere I might pick some up for a good price, but I don’t think I’m desperate to have more of these in my collection at the moment, just because I have other masks and these weren’t anything special. They had a subtle scent of melon and felt hydrating and soothing. They were pretty good, but not groundbreaking. Still, they’re good masks that I would be happy to use up! To be honest, I am pretty drawn to the cute packaging… I’m such a sucker for packaging that it makes me want to try their peach masks that look similar to these!

Nohj Superfood Honey Mask & Esfolio Bird’s Nest Essence Mask Sheet

I wasn’t too impressed with the Nohj Superfood Honey Mask – it was just too thick and I won’t repurchase that ever. I liked the Esfolio Bird’s Nest Essence Mask Sheet (I always enjoy Esfolio masks) but it wasn’t anything special, either – just a good, dependable mask. I probably won’t go out of my way to repurchase it either for that reason, but I enjoyed it!

Ariul Seven Days Tea Tree Mask & Etude House Hyaluronic Acid Mask

I enjoyed using the Ariul Tea Tree mask – it was a clear essence type and soothes/hydrated my skin. I don’t think I would go out of my way to buy more, but I would use them if they were gifted to me. The Etude House Hyaluronic acid mask was very thin and I didn’t need to wear my Daiso mask on top – I would definitely repurchase this one.

Annie’s Way Honey Deep Moisturizing Mask & Tsaio Stay Up Late Mask

I really liked the Annie’s Way mask and what it did to my skin!! I woke up with clearer, more even and moisturized skin. I would definitely buy some of these, even though there is an ingredient in it that people should watch out for if they’re sensitive. I thought the Tsaio mask was okay – good enough to use if I have it, but nothing I would go out of my way to buy. It had a clear essence with a kind of “clean” scent to it, well-soaked and hydrating for my skin, but nothing that wowed me – still, a decent mask.

If you’ve been following my blog for more than a year you’ll know that Esfolio masks are an old favorite of mine. This is literally the last Esfolio mask I had in my collection – I would definitely buy more.

I liked the TonyMoly Snail Essence but I think the one from CosRX is still better. I was SO surprised with the Lioele Water Drop Sleeping Mask – when I used it, I woke up to plump, hydrated skin. Wow!! The TonyMoly Instense Care Dual Effect Sleeping Pack is something I’ve been meaning to buy a full-size of for some time now, I’ve tried a packet of that before. I always wake up to a super-moisturized face with it – great for dry skin or dry weather.

SKINCARE

Unfortunately, these Almay Eye Makeup Remover pads were a complete flop. They did nothing even for my non-waterproof eye makeup. I only used the first few in here and I stopped when I realized it was futile. Not repurchasing and throwing this out despite it being almost full. I don’t get it!  Maybe I got a bad batch… I even tried using several pads at once. Oh well!

This is my second bottle of Pixi Glow Tonic and I have to go pick up my third! Just finished this up. I love the scent and the ingredients, and it helps remove any residue on my face while prepping it well for the next steps in my routine and providing a good pH of 4.

The DHC Lip Cream is my HG chapstick! I discovered this while I was in Taiwan in a 7-Eleven. You can get these on Amazon! It has Lanolin in it and these are the only chapstick that I’ve EVER finished completely and had to repurchase in my WHOLE LIFE – and that’s coming from someone with dry lips who lives in a place that has cooooold winters. These are my third and fourth tubes of 2016. I am already using a new one! I have to order more.

I am still using Evas Vitamin Hand cream, but in the “flavor” of Avocado! I brought back many of these when I left Taiwan – I like them because they have Niacinamide in them and my hands always feel better when I use them. Plus, they’re super affordable, at least when I bought them in person in Taiwan! Not sure what I’ll do when I run out completely, I could dabble in the hand creams from Innisfree. I know I absolutely love the Skinfood hand cream with SPF in it, I believe it smells like roses.

This hand cream smelled lightly of cherry – this whole line seems to have only subtle scents, which I like.

I actually forget which one is which, and I can’t read Korean, so I’m guessing that one of these is the Innisfree Ampoule cushion and the other is probably the Innisfree Water Glow cushion? I also had the Innisfree Long Wear cushion, so one of them could be that as well. I just had to throw these out because they are just too old to safely use anymore. I took too long to try and use them up! T_T  I did very much enjoy all three kinds of the Innisfree cushion, and would recommend them all. The Ampoule has very sheer coverage and basically just adds glow and a more even tone. The Water Glow and the Long Wear had light to medium coverage on me; the Water Glow was good for the winter and the Long Wear good for the summer. These were pretty good cushions considering the price, and I’d me out with ! :Definitely consider repurchasing the Long Wear cushion for next summer along with one of Innisfree’s new cute cases that they came out with!

MAKEUP

I liked the Maybelline Pumped Up! Colossal mascara a lot – it gave me a ton of volume and length like the Heroine Make mascaras, but my only complaint was that it did flake sometimes, which was slightly inconvenient. I’m using my Heroine Make mascara now, which is currently my HG mascara but very waterproof. I’m still on the hunt for a non-waterproof mascara that gives me volume and length that doesn’t flake or smudge.

I really liked the Etude House Drawing Eye Brow pencil – this is actually my second one! My HG is still the Peripera eyebrow pencil, but this was a good price and still did a good job of quickly filling in my brows – the spoolie is nice, too. I’m currently trying out the Milani brow pencil (waterproof) and I’m super impressed with it as well.

I enjoyed using the Dolly Wink liquid liner in Brown, and I would consider repurchasing it! For now, I’m trying to use up my Etude House Drawing Show liquid liner and I’m trying out the Jordana liquid liner as well!

This Mineral Fusion blush was my every-day go-to for a few years now, but I’ve finally forced myself to throw it out due to its age. I think I bought it back in 2013… teehee! The NYX High Voltage Lipstick I absolutely loved!! However, I got this shade (Sweet 16, I believe) in the clearance section at Target and after a few uses I couldn’t get more lipstick to swivel up from the bullet – I guess it had been damaged somehow. Ah well! I’ll probably get around to purchasing this again someday.

When I reorganized my makeup collection recently, I found these two poor souls – they have shattered and I’m too lazy to salvage them! The Alverde blush is roughly 5 or 6 years old anyway, so I’m not too sad about it. If you’re ever in Germany though, I really enjoyed using Alverde powder products! I also highly recommend trying out the Terra Nature products as well.

The Milani eyeshadow was not that pigmented and I didn’t really reach for it often. At least none of my more favored makeup shattered yet!

I believe this is my third for fourth bottle of the Yes To Carrots Nourishing Body Wash – I like this stuff because it’s a big bottle that lasts me a very long time, it foams up nicely but not overly so, it doesn’t dry my skin out (even in Winter), and I love the scent and ingredients. I would probably repurchase this, but I’m kind of interested in trying out the other Body Wash “flavors” that they have.

This Renpure Biotin & Collagen Thickening Shampoo my now-HG shampoo!! I absolutely cannot live without this stuff. I’ve been using it for a couple months now. After finishing this bottle here, I’ve gone and purchased a huge pump bottle of it at Target. It’s reasonably priced, has great ingredients, and keeps my scalp hydrated and free of dry flakes. It smells amazing and I never need to use conditioner, EVEN in winter! I really can’t believe it, and I’m so glad I gave this a try. My hair looks silky and shiny, and I’ve gotten compliments on how healthy my hair looks recently. Yay!!

I actually finished this Photo Tree Cucumber Gel last year, but apparently it’s been sitting around in my suitcase. Around New Year’s I did some cleaning and found this. I loved the scent and I like this more than the Nature Republic Aloe Vera Gel that’s super famous. It seemed more hydrating. Plus… the shape makes for a good ice breaker, haha!

I liked the Batiste Dry Shampoo enough, but to be honest I had trouble using it since I have dark brown hair. This worked pretty well to keep my hair fresh but the effects didn’t last all day and it left a visible white cast in my darker hair, which was hard to work into my hair to make sure nobody noticed. I have tried the one for Brown hair, but I didn’t like it because sometimes the spray got onto my hairline or my fingers and it’s BROWN… I was petrified of accidentally spraying this brown pigment all over my forehead or face, haha! So, it was just too much of a hassle. I’m currently trying out the Aussie dry shampoo and I like it better so far. (For reference, I have thin, fine, dark hair that gets greasy fairly easily.)

Thanks for reading my long empties post, and I hope it was at least a little helpful! Feel free to ask anything or leave me a comment below! ❤

Leave a Reply

