favorites

[Favorites] January’s Faves & Collection Update

I haven’t done a favorites post in ages, but I finally have the time for it! ❤ Read on if you’d like to take a peek at my current collection and also see what I’ve been using over and over again this January! Warning – it is a long post!

To start off, I would like to say that I do own enough makeup to have to keep it all organized in different bins! o(^_^)o  So, when I do find myself using the same products over and over again, it does say something about them!

Keep in mind that I am a blogger and this is definitely my hobby – I do own more makeup than I would normally own if I didn’t blog and such. I used to just stick with one foundation until it was used up and then move onto another one, but that’s all changed since I started this blog! Teehee! That being said, here’s what I’ve got to work with these days:

Base Makeup:

image

This isn’t actually all of it – I’ve given away quite a few BB creams and foundations recently, just because I can’t use them up fast enough and I don’t want them to go to waste. Once they start getting borderline too old, I give them to family or friends who would use them faster than me! Most of them are easy to give away since they’re pumps or tubes and they’re pretty hygienic, even if they’re used.

Powders/Concealers/Blushes/Bronzers:

image

Eye & Brow Makeup: 

image

Many of my lippies are missing from this drawer because they’ve ended up all over my apartment and are living in all of my different purses, bags, backpacks, etc. o(^_^)o 

That sums up my collection, if you have any questions shoot me a comment below – otherwise, let’s get into my January Favorites!!

Note: I am currently NC15-20, with normal-dry skin and yellow undertones.

FAVORITE BASE MAKEUP:

I’ll come clean with you guys – the base makeup that I went crazy over this January wasn’t one of my AB products… it was my new Urban Decay Naked Weightless Ultra Definition Makeup in 2.0! My SO’s mother let me try hers over winter break and I just absolutely fell in love.

image

This gives me such good coverage but with a natural finish and a lovely glow – AND it lasts ALL DAY on me – I just can’t even!! I’d love to get my hands on the concealer sometime as well, but no rush. I can apply this with a brush or with my RT sponge. Lately I’ve been favoring the sponge.

I’m a drugstore queen (as you can tell by my collection), so it was definitely a treat that I bought the UD foundation, and I went crazy over it this last month. I’ve finally gotten over my honeymoon phase with this foundation, so this February I am starting to sheepishly pick up my other BB creams, cushions and foundations and starting to use them again. I do need to keep them in regular rotation if I ever hope to get through them all!

I think this has started something awful though, because now I’ve gone and put the Two Faced Born This Way, the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea and the Kat Von D Lock It foundations on my wishlist. Have I been bitten by the high-end foundation bug? Watch out, wallet. I’ve been there before (side-eye to BareMinerals) and it sure cost me a pretty penny! Haha! Seriously though, the BareMinerals foundation compacts and loose powders were my HG before I turned to drugstore and Korean road-shop base makeup!

FAVORITE CONCEALER:

I have been really using the Etude House Big Cover Concealer Cushion in Vanilla, non-stop.

image

It doesn’t completely cover my blemishes, but it does a great job with my under-eyes. It does crease a bit in my fine lines, but nothing abnormal for me personally (I am almost 30, so not much you can do to help with that). Plus, it’s got SPF! Love any extra SPF I get!

FAVORITE POWDER:

I leaned heavily on my Maybelline Dream Wonder powder in January:

image

It’s finely milled, sets all my base makeup beautifully, and doesn’t take away any moisture from my skin (I’ve got normal to dry skin AND it’s the middle of winter). I even picked up a new shade of it this week! ❤  I wear the shade 03 Light Ivory, and when I want to darken a foundation that’s a tad too light, I wear the shade 20 Classic Ivory.

FAVORITE BRONZER/BLUSH:

I really favored my Milani Powder Blush in 01 Romantic Rose and my NYC Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder in 720A Sunny:

imageimage

And a swatch of both:

image

I STILL love the way the NYC bronzer smells, and it blends really nicely. I haven’t even it pan on it yet, but I will pretty soon – I can see it coming! I like how I can contour with this but also use it to just warm up my face as well. The Milani blush is just so beautiful to look at and it applies just as pretty as it looks on my cheeks, whether it be over a liquid or powder foundation. I love this shade for an every-day look!

FAVORITE EYE PALETTE:

I have been LOVING this Wet N Wild Eyeshadow Palette in “Coming in Latte“:

I couldn’t bear not to swatch this, the shades are just so wonderful:

You can still find this at Walmart, Amazon, and of course on the Wet N Wild website. The quality of these shadows are SO good – they are just as easy to blend out as the three-shadow palettes (like “Walking on Eggshells” – another favorite of mine) and they are really pigmented, too. Buttery-smooth, very little fall-out, and I’ve not been disappointed by any shade in this palette. Plus – HOW affordable is this?! Loving the quality and the price, you really can’t beat it! The colors make for some pretty darn gorgeous, every-day wearable looks!

FAVORITE BROW PRODUCTS:

I’ve been mainly using the Rimmel Brow This Way gel/tint on days when I don’t want to fuss with my makeup too much. BUT – hold onto your hats guys, because I’ve found a new HG brow pencil – the Milani Easybrow:

image

It’s an automatic pencil and it says it’s “water-resistant” – which you can definitely feel when you apply it. When I brush it out after application, my brows do tend to stay where I brushed them out – something I personally attribute to the “water-resistant” formula. It applies SO easily – I barely have to touch my brows – and it smudges easily, blends easily… the color is such a great match for my dark brown hair… What can I say, I’m in love! Such a great drugstore find, you guys. My only gripe is that the first one I bought stopped working – I used it once and the second time around I couldn’t twist it up. So I had to go and buy another one… it hasn’t happened yet with my second one, fingers crossed! I’ll come back and update if there are any problems with it in the future.

The Rimmel brow gel is nothing special (it doesn’t help my brows stay, and it can overapply easily), but I ran out of my Etude House tinted brow gel a while back and missed having one around. I’ll be ordering another one off Jolse next time I get around to it! By the way, the Peripera brow gel is my HG brow gel – just harder to get than the Etude House one. Also, that’s linked to one of my older reviews, so forgive the different formatting.

FAVORITE LINERS:

Last month I really favored the:

  • Jordana Cat Eye Liner in 02 Black Brown & Jordana Easyliner in Coffee Bean
  • Holika Holika Jewel-Light Waterproof Eyeliner in Pink Topaz and Brown Amber
  • Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in 005 Nude

image

The Jordana Cat Eye Liner is something I picked up off of a recommendation from a YouTuber, and it does last all day on me so I’ve been liking it for the low price – although it is harder to apply since this is a very traditional brush liner.

The Jordana Easyliner is something I reach for when I want a no-fuss look and I don’t need anything bold-looking. I like to use this to tightline my upper waterline, but it doesn’t last long if I use it on my upper lid.

The Holika Holika Jewel-Light Waterproof Eyeliner pencils are super awesome – easy to smudge, great pigmentation, and it sets and stays put on my upper lid if I smudge it out to make a cat eye and such. I might repurchase these! Very tempted by the Clio liners, though… we shall see! You can tell how much I’ve used up the pencil in Brown Amber, it’s almost done for, haha! The one in Pink Topaz is beautiful for highlighting my inner eye and agyusal  (is that how you spell it?!).

The Rimmel Scandaleyes pencil in Nude is so great for lining my lower lid to make me look more awake and well-rested, so I use it nearly every single day (especially as a nursing student running low on sleep some days, haha!). It stays put for a good few hours, which is more than I can say for other ones I’ve tried from the drugstore – and it’s very affordable. This is my second one, in fact.

FAVORITE MASCARA:

Not gonna lie, I was super surprised with how much I liked the Jordana Best Lash Extreme Volumizing Mascara in 301 Black:

image

It’s not perfect – it does get a little crumbly and has a little fallout by the end of the day, but most of the day it gives me great volume, length and curl for SUCH an affordable price. I don’t even need to use my eyelash curler with this. It’s not waterproof, so it’s easy to take off at the end of the day. I just think this is a great every-day mascara for me! I wish they had it in Brown, I love Brown… ah well! I still love my Heroine Make Volume & Curl Mascara for when I need a mascara that makes me look like I have falsies and is extremely waterproof and does not budge!

FAVORITE SETTING SPRAY:

Along with the Urban Decay foundation, I’ve been obsessed with my new sample of the Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray:

image

I know I’m late to the party with this one, but I’ve been sticking to drugstore ones the whole time – and my lovely Etude House Collagen spray – until I spotted this sample when I bought my UD foundation! It turns any makeup I spray it on into an all-day wear, and I feel like it firms my face after application. I can feel it tightening my skin at first, as it sinks in, but after a few minutes my skin feels normal again. I’ve really enjoyed this and I might get the full-size.

o(^_^)o

Well, that’s it! Let me know if you have any questions and please leave me a comment below! I love hearing from you guys! Thanks for stopping by and I hope this helped! ❤

 

5 thoughts on “[Favorites] January’s Faves & Collection Update

  1. I loooove looking at your collection!
    I hear you, once you go over to the “dark side” with foundation, it’s difficult to go back to drugstore! What’s your favourite drugstore foundation at the moment?
    I’ve not heard of the Etude House Big Cover Concealer Cushion… but what’s “cushion” about it?
    And yesss, NYC bronzer in Sunny will always have a special place in my heart. I don’t bronze all the time but that one is just so effortless.
    OH man, I can’t wait to try the Jordana mascara – I finally got my hands on it, woohoo! (Jordana isn’t available here in Canada) I’d heard rumours that it was being discontinued so it seems that’s not true. Now I’m curious about Jordana’s liners since you listed 2 of them.
    Great list and it gives me more stuff to put onto my wish list. 😛 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! I’ve gone back and linked the Etude House Concealer Cushion to my review of it – it’s basically the same thing as the Maybelline Age Rewind concealer, but with a smaller sponge on the end. Also, instead of twisting up the product like with Maybelline, you click the end of the pen to add more product to the sponge tip.

      My favorite drugstore foundation right now the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Glow foundation, but I think I got it in a shade too light. The finish is lovely and it does really last all day on me while giving me good coverage. My old drugstore favorite is the Wet N Wild Coverall Foundation – if you haven’t tried that one yet I’d recommend at least giving it a shot – the coverage is surprisingly good for such a low price and it’s a semi-matte finish on me that is long-lasting.

      Yayyyy! So excited that you enjoyed my post! I love reading yours so much!

      Like

    1. I think it’s okay – I don’t think I’d repurchase it. There isn’t much product in there for the price, compared to other drugstore liquid highlights… and I’m not that big a fan of the applicator. It’s a bit difficult to try and get a precise application of the highlight and it always ends up in a larger area than I want it… the glow is nice, though. I’m still experimenting but so far I don’t think it’s something I will really reach for over my other options.

      Like

Leave a Reply

