Etude House · Product Review

[Review] Etude House True Relief Special Trial Kit

I received this sample box the last time I ordered from the Etude House site, and I’ve actually purchased the full size of one of these products! Read on for details and pictures!

Here’s what the packaging looked like:

The sample kit came with:

  • 20 mL of the Etude House True Relief Moist Mist Toner
  • 15 mL of the Etude House True Relief Moist Emulsion
  • 10 mL of the Etude House True Relief Moist Cream

img_3653

img_3654

These are unscented and meant for sensitive skin, so I did enjoy using these!

I’ve used these over the course of a month now and I’ll be rating each of these using my rating scale:


Starting from the left:

  1. ABSOLUTE FAIL. Would not repurchase.
  2. Meh. Not horrible, but not that good either.
  3. Hmmm. That’s interesting and I like it enough to use it all.
  4. Ooohhh. I definitely like this.
  5. WOW. This stuff is great! *.*
  6. I LOVE THIS. HOLY GRAIL STATUS!!

Note: I am currently a normal-skin type.

Etude House True Relief Moist Toner

The full-size product comes in 200 mL spray bottle. I had a lot of trouble trying to find a place that actually sells this – I found places that sell the kit that I got, but very few that sell this toner. Strangely, even Etude House’s site does not carry it… they didn’t even have it out of stock, it just wasn’t even listed as a product there. Hmm! I did find a review of it on the Jolse Blog, though – click HERE to see it.

Here are the ingredients (click on the picture to go to the actual page):

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-19-34-28

I thought this toner was pretty basic. It was an “ok” spray nozzle – it didn’t give me as fine a mist as I wanted, but it wasn’t horrible. It was unscented, it didn’t irritate and felt hydrating. I just thought it was strange that it was so hard to find outside of this trial kit.

The full-size product is pretty generous in size, so it might be a good deal for those with sensitive skin. I myself wouldn’t purchase this just because I prefer others, such as the Etude House mists or the Mizon Snail mist.

I’d give this a 3/6.

 

Etude House True Relief Moist Emulsion

The full-size product comes in a 180 mL shaker bottle and is sold for $21.60 USD on the Etude House website. Jolse sells it for $18.34.

Here are the ingredients (click HERE to see the CosDNA analysis):

Water, Glycerin, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Dimethicone, C14-22 Alcohols, Prunus Mume Fruit Extract, Ceramide 3, Castanea Sativa (Chestnut) Seed Extract, Cichorium Intybus (Chicory) Root Extract, Tremella Fuciformis (Mushroom) Extract, C12-20 Alkyl Glucoside, Glyceryl Stearate, Glyceryl Caprylate, Butylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Acrylates/Stearyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Ethylhexylglycerin, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Potassium Hydroxide, Hyaluronic Acid, 1,2-Hexanediol, Disodium Edta

This is what Etude House says about this product:

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-15-37-36

img_3655

This is “unscented” – it didn’t have any scent at all, and when I really tried to detect one it just faintly reminded me of generic lotion. This is a nice, light emulsion that is lighter in texture than the Etude House Honey Cera Emulsion.

img_3656

It does spread and absorb very easily and makes my skin feel soft and hydrated.

img_3657

Again, following the theme of this kit, it’s pretty plain and basic, but if that’s what you need, then this is definitely something I’d recommend! I’d like to use this in the morning as a light moisturizer during hot weather, when it’s too hot for a traditional cream.

I’d give this a 4/6 – it did perform very well in the hydration/moisturization department, so I have to give it points for that. It may not be the most exciting product, but it’s effective as a light, hypoallergenic moisturizer.

 

Etude House True Relief Moist Cream

The full-size product comes in a 60 mL jar and is sold on the Etude House site for $26.40 USD. Jolse sells it for $17.83.

It also comes in a 150 mL squeeze tube sold for $34.80 USD at Etude House and $29.98 at Jolse.

Here are the ingredients (click HERE to see the CosDNA analysis):

Water, Glycerin, Propanediol, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Behenyl Alcohol, Prunus Mume Fruit Extract, Castanea Sativa (Chestnut) Seed Extract, Cichorium Intybus (Chicory) Root Extract, Tremella Fuciformis (Mushroom) Extract, Ceramide 3, Hyaluronic Acid, C12-20 Alkyl Glucoside, C14-22 Alcohols, Dimethiconol, Butylene Glycol, Cyclohexasiloxane, Arachidyl Glucoside, Arachidyl Alcohol, Acrylates/Stearyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Ethylhexylglycerin, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Xanthan Gum, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polysorbate 20, Polyacrylate-13, Polyisobutene, Hydroxypropyl Bispalmitamide Mea

img_3658

This is thick – as you can see, it doesn’t budge or run down my hand; a traditional cream. It’s also “unscented” and I truly couldn’t detect any fragrance.

img_3659

While this is a thick cream, it spreads/absorbs very easily and with little effort. It feels moisturizing on the skin and did make my skin feel soft. I felt like this was a good occlusive without feeling too heavy – I was able to use this in the mornings to lock my essences/emulsions in but without looking shiny/greasy.

img_3660

I liked this one enough that I purchased the full-sized squeeze tube of the “Etude House True Relief Moist Cream” – I loved the squeeze tube packaging because it’s more hygienic than a jar, and the large amount of product was appealing to me. This just seemed like a great, reliable cream to have around!

If this product were only available in the 60mL jar form, I probably wouldn’t have bought it. That tells you how much I evaluate the price/quantity ratios when I buy things… and how much I love tube-form creams!! Plus, this really did feel very moisturizing while not being too heavy for day-time use either. It’s a very well-made cream in my opinion, and even though it’s not as exciting as my other creams, I liked it enough to buy it! I can’t tell you how surprised I was at myself – I usually don’t buy things as plain as this, but I just can’t beat the moisture it gave me and how versatile it is.

I’d give this cream a 5/6 for the tube format, the effectiveness, and the amount of cream in the full-sized tube form (150mL!! Versus just 60mL in the jar!).

Here’s a picture of my full-sized tube of the True Relief Moist Cream:

The trial kit did convince me to buy one of the products, so I’d say it’s worth a try if you have easy access to one. I see that they’re still floating around on eBay and possibly Amazon, so if you’re interested in finding great quality, unscented skincare, I’d give this True Relief line a try!

3 thoughts on “[Review] Etude House True Relief Special Trial Kit

  1. Well, it’s good that you discovered ONE full-size worthy product! The cream has an interesting texture – almost like silicone? But I don’t see silicone on its ingredient list. I’m impressed that it doesn’t look more shiny on the skin. Trial kits are a great way to try new stuff without too much commitment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

